Welcome to Nepal

After TCV Anniversary, we all left to Delhi. Wheras my friends went back to Vienna, I went further to Nepal to start my adventure. As there is Tihar Festival at the moment, University is closed and I had the opportunity to visit Kathmandu, Patan and some nice places nearby.

 

First I visited the big Stupa in Bodnath, which is a very famous buddhist monument - a quiet and calming place within noisy and hectic Kathmandu. During the 2015 earthquake the Stupa was damaged but the renovation work is almost completed here.

I also visited Pharping which is famous for its numerous meditation caves of Guru Rinpoche, that can be visited nowadays.

Another interesting place is Pashupathinath, Kathmandu's place of cremation at the shoreline of Bagmati river.

In Patan, another one of the three previous city states I visited the famous Durbar Square with its hinduistic temples. Some of them were damaged or even destroyed during last years earthquake. But still it's worth a visit!